Left Brain vs. Right Brain Programming?

Serial and parallel programming style.

Until the past decade or so, most software programming was serial. That is, the code was meant to execute one statement at a time. That was fine, serial code performance kept increasing as long as microprocessor clock rates kept increasing.

Microprocessor clock rates stopped increasing a few years ago, and so people turned to parallel programming to extract more performance out of their application programs. One central idea in parallel programming is that independent data and instruction streams may be divided up and executed simultaneously. Much of the underlying computer processors (CPUs, GPUs and FPGAs) support this style of programming. What I find puzzling is that the code development environments do not seem (to me, at least) to fully support a parallel programming style.

I’m speaking from personal experience here. I know I absolutely have to draw out my parallel code on a large piece of paper and only then can I implement pieces of the code in a traditional text-based development environment. Much to my surprise, I’ve seen papers in cognitive neuroscience concluding our human brains use the speech center to work things out in a serial fashion and use the visual center to work things out in a parallel fashion. It sure seems like a useful parallel programming environment would fully support coding using visualization instead of coding using text characters from a computer language. To be fair, this┬ámay be confirmation bias on my part. Or perhaps a programming environment using only imagery it a bit too far off in the future. I do not know as I tend to have many more questions than answers. And I’d love to be able to create parallel programs from pictures.

 

Author: David Pointer

Pragmatic programmer. Consilient alchemist. Pro geek. Serial hobbyist. Miniature tabletop gamer.

Leave a Reply

